Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

eResources: Criminal Law & Procedures eResources

Criminal Law & Procedures eResources

The resources below were compiled for the Criminal Law and Procedures course taught by Prof. Mendieta. We added them to the library webpages so students would have access.

Recommended Resources by ASA Library

Print & eBooks - from ASA Library

Print Books

Fein, B. (2008). Constitutional peril: The life and death struggle for our constitution and democracy. Palgrave Macmillan. Call no. 342.7306 F299 2008

Wachtel, A. (2010). Investigative techniques of the FBI. Mason Crest. Call no. 363.250973 W113 2010

Wallace, H. (2006). Principles of criminal law : With built-in study guide, 3rd ed. Pearson Education. Call no. 345.73 W189 3rd


ASA Ebsco eBook Collection

Ochoa, J. C. (2013). The rights of victims in criminal justice proceedings for serious human rights violations. Martinus Nijhoff Publishers.
Click Here To View

Stuntz, W. J. (2011). The collapse of American criminal justice. Harvard University Press.
Click Here To View

Leo, R. A. (2008). Police interrogation and American justice. Harvard University Press.
Click Here To View

Resources in Term Paper Writing

Thesis Statement
Click Here To View

Topic Outline
Click Here To View

Plagiarism - (What is plagiarism and how to prevent it [Video]) by Professor Mark A. Polger
Click Here To View

TurnItIn Training Module
Click Here To View

Databases - from ASA Library

ASA Library Gale Criminal Justice Collection Database

Girgis, S. (2013, November). The mens rea of accomplice liability: Supporting intentions. Yale Law Journal, 123(2), 460+. Yale Law Journal, 123(2), 460+
Click Here To View

Long, A. A. (2014, Summer). Stops, frisks, and police encounters: The New York Court of Appeals's strict application of the De Bour Standard. Albany Law Review, 77(4), 1465+.
Click Here To View

Rodriguez, J. I. (2013, March). Interrogation first, Miranda warnings afterward: A critical analysis of the Supreme Court's approach to delayed Miranda warnings. Fordham Urban Law Journal, 40(3), 1091+.
Click Here To View

ASA Library ProQuest Criminal Justice Database

Crocker, T. P. (2013). Order, technology, and the constitutional meanings of criminal procedure. Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology, 103(3), 685-743.
Click Here To View

Chan, W., & Simester, A. P. (2011). Four functions of mens rea. The Cambridge Law Journal, 70(2), 381-396. https://doi.org/10.1017/S0008197311000547
Click Here To View

Ashworth, A., & Zedner, L. (2008). Defending the criminal law: Reflections on the changing character of crime, procedure, and sanctions. Criminal Law and Philosophy, 2(1), 21-51. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11572-007-9033-2.
Click Here To View

ASA Library Public Library of Law Collection Database

See records after using the search term "American criminal justice system".
Click Here To View

ASA Library Google Scholar Collection Database

See records after using the search term "substantive criminal law in America".
Click Here To View

Websites

Web Sources - Note: Please use Firefox Browser to make sure that the links are working properly.

Legal encyclopedia from the Legal Information Institute
Click Here To View

New York Criminal Procedure Law Index: A comprehensive on-line digest of New York's criminal code
Click Here To View

Libguides from Georgia State University Law Library
Click Here To View

FindLaw is a massive legal web portal with links to legal materials on everything from court opinions to legal forms, practice areas and news.
Click Here To View

Justia provides free access to a variety of legal information, including cases, organized by jurisdiction and subject area. It also includes databases of legal blogs and social-media legal news sources.
Click Here To View

Large and diverse collection of web links to legal material, maintained by the Washburn School of Law. The information is arranged by jurisdiction and topic.
Click Here To View

Criminal Procedure Resource Guide from NCSC (National Center for State Courts)
Click Here To View

Resources from the online library of Crime Museum
Click Here To View

A three-part documentary on why and how the Constitution was created at the Constitutional Convention
Click Here To View

Miranda vs Arizona: US History Review : A video
Click Here To View

Podcasts on Oral arguments on Miranda v. Arizona Case from Chicago-Kent College of Law
Click Here To View

Articles from the Internet

Articles From the Internet

Articles from the Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology
Click Here To View

The American Bar Association's Legal Technology Resource Center Journal Search provides access to searches for full text articles including open access law journals.
Click Here To View